One Lucky Guy

My husband Ronnie is one lucky guy. To have been married to someone like me for almost three decades is proof enough, right? Kidding aside, though, this guy has walked away from company Christmas parties with DVD players, iPods and the like. Not bad considering that of the people who attended, more than 90 % of them came home empty-handed.

Recently, my cousin Julius’ fundraising activities for his brother’s re-election bid provided Ronnie with plenty of brushes with Lady Luck. The first time was with Bingo. The tickets went for 3 cards for $5.00. Half of the pot went to the fundraising kitty and the other half went to the winner. Every game averaged a net of $100, so the prize money was $50. Of the four games, he won one. Considering that we only spent $20 on the games that night, we still came out on top, right?

The next games were the Lakers box squares played during the recent basketball season. Each participant gets to choose a number from 1 to 100. The final score for each game gets rounded off. If that number happens to be yours, you are the winner. Ronnie won three of the twenty-one games. Pretty good stats, don’t you think?

The last fundraising activity was the raffle. Every family had 5 stubs with ten tickets each that they had to sell. The raffle was done last Easter Sunday at my cousin’s house. Third prize was $100, second was $200 and first was $300. Everyone eagerly anticipated the results.

For the third prize, the birthday celebrant, Manong Boy, picked out the ticket. Ronnie jokingly yelled out to him “Pick my ticket and you get a cut.” Julius read the winner’s name. Ronnie Lu. When Ronnie stepped forward to claim his $100 prize, Manong Boy yelled back “Hey, where’s my cut?”

The second prize went to a friend of my cousins.

Now for the much anticipated first prize…The first prize goes to… Drum roll please… Hmm, an unfamiliar name and the ticket number did not match any of the approved numbers… What to do? A quick consultation was called. Everybody agreed to draw again. This time the winning ticket went to…Ronnie Lu! Unbelievable. Ronnie did it again. He was going to walk away with $400 that night, if they hadn’t agreed before the drawing that if somebody won twice, they get to keep the higher price but forfeit the lower one. Fair enough. $300 in one night was not bad.

What was interesting about those raffle tickets was that I wrote all four of our names— Ronnie, Chessa, Melanie and mine— equally on all 50 tickets. We all had a fair shot at it yet it was Ronnie’s name that got picked. Twice! Coincidence, or am I married to one lucky guy?

Now all these lucky strikes do not mean that my guy has the Midas touch. I don’t have a chateau in France or a villa in Spain. Yet. Now if I can just get this guy to play the Lotto, maybe then I can stop pestering God each night with my prayer that goes…

“Dear God, let me prove to you that winning the lottery won’t change me.”

Ka ching!!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Harold
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 10:44:52

    Again, Excellent writing. Keeps the reader glued to his/her seat to the very end….

    Definitely Very Lucky Guy!!! Let me know when he starts buying Lotto. I will send you $20.00 every time to ride it. šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • emmblu
      Apr 23, 2010 @ 20:33:49

      Thanks, Harold. Ronnie is not the only one lucky around here. I am lucky to have friends like you who believe in me. Thanks again for the support.

      Reply

  2. achi joy
    May 29, 2010 @ 22:26:56

    Ha ha, I like this. I agree with the 2nd sentence,too.

    Reply

    • emmblu
      May 30, 2010 @ 07:38:39

      Yeyyy, ingbasa na gyud si Achie Joy…

      Giingnan nako si Ronnie kinahanglan sya maglakaw pinaluhod sa simbahan from door to altar in gratitude for the chance of serving me for the rest of his life. He pretended to throw up in disagreement when I told him. Reminds me of when Mommy used to tell Daddy “Kaswerte gyud nimo naminyo ka nako! Mura kag kadaog ug jackpot. ” then Dad would pretend to choke in protest. Haha. History repeats itself gyud.

      Thanks for reading, ChJoy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

