A Writer on the Sly

A writer on the sly, that’s me, oh my. Underneath this nurse’s cap is a closet lexophile who would trade needles for pens and dispense stories instead of pills. There were clues along the way. Four years in nursing school earned me a diploma, a visa to the US, and numerous writing awards to my name. Yes, writing, not nursing. Review classes found me in one corner furiously scribbling notes, not for the nurses’ board exams, but for a bonus lampoon issue of the school paper. You would think I would have asked for the Muse’s blessings back then, but the real world beckoned, and I turned my back on her. Yet I find myself heeding her siren call every now and then. Each time I do, I find I am as beholden and as enamored of her as ever, humbled by the pleasure she affords me. It is in these moments of weakness that I surrender mind and soul, and pray that I be blessed with many more such moments.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Harold
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 11:26:32

    Emms, a word of advice from an avid reader of your literary work, please do not let too much time pass before your next one. Few people in this world have this talent.

    Not to put too much pressure, but as one person once said, “With this great power, comes great responsibility (to your readers)”. 🙂

    Reply

  2. emmblu
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 20:37:09

    What a nice thing to say. I hope I deserve it. I do try to write as much as I can. Nothing brings me more joy. Btw,comments like these keep me going even more. Thanks again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

